Linguaholic

Greetings.

Amatenshi

Hello, everyone! Amatenshi here. I'm a 20-year-old game development major from Rhode Island, USA. My Japanese knowledge is very limited, and I figured that I needed to find a way to start making progress again. Maybe spending some time here will get me going. This forum seems to have a really nice atmosphere, from what I've seen.

I studied Spanish in high school, where most of the students in my class were a year older. I was able to carry on conversations in Spanish with the staff of the resort my family went to in Punta Cana, in the Dominican Republic. Sadly, my Spanish 2 teacher from freshman year doomed me to a path where I couldn't continue after Spanish 3, so I took other computer-related electives to hang out with one of my two really good senior friends. I don't remember a whole lot, but I've thought about picking Spanish back up again if I have room for it. For now, I'm focusing entirely on Japanese.

My college only offered one intro Japanese course, which I took a long time ago. Since then, I've done little bits of translation here and there to avoid losing any ground with my busy schedule, as well as small stints with editing (plus a little bit of dictionary-reliant translation checking) for anime subs and visual novel translations. I know only a little more than 100 kanji, and my vocabulary is quite lacking.