Linguaholic

Why do you want to learn another language?

A0130

Study With Us on Discord for FREE!

Well  I wanted to underdstand more, to communicate with different people, to share what I like with people all around the world and to find out more about the things that interest me. I enjoy the opportunity to be able to read a book or article before it's translated or to share tips and become friends with someone from another country. This is why I learn languages. As I stated somewhere else, with small exceptions, for me languages are the means, and not the goal.

Initially I started learning languages at school because it was complusory for the first few years, but slowly but surely I learnt to appreciate how languages break down barriers between people. That's the main reason why I continued my language studies beyond the complusory stage. Languages help you broaden your horizons by allowing you to communicate with others and helping you access a culture other than your own.

I learned my first two languages while I ws growing up. So, I can't differentiate between my first and second language. But I started learning English when I was 17 years old, because I realized that I wouldn't be able to communicate with rest of the world with out it.

Because I'm not good at anything else :P

I just like learning languages. I think it leads to so many opportunities and also improves the way we think and view the world. I also hope I'll be able to get a job as a translator or something like that, but maybe I'm just being naive here...

English is my native language and I grew up in the U.S.  My parents encouraged me to learn languages, especially my father who had learned French in school.  When we took family trips to Quebec, Canada when I was very young, I really got a kick out of seeing my father converse with the French Canadians and I aspired to do the same.