Linguaholic

How I study Spanish for maximum learning capability ^.^

Nathan Heightz

Hello! I've been studying spanish for 6 months and have reached a basic fluency in speaking, but can understand almost anything I read! In this video I explain what i do/have done! feel free to watch, leave tips! and let me know if this helped you! ^.^

• 3 weeks later...

Study With Us on Discord for FREE!

Hey Nathan and all.

Good method you've got there. Watching your other videos (5 months and 6 months progress), I'd comment that your pronunciation is pretty good, fluid and very understandable. The more you speak like that, the more you'll understand what others are saying to you.

I'd highlight something I noticed-- Nathan not only looked at the words in the vocab book, he painted them. When I was studying Spanish on my own, before moving to Spain, I'd read (actually reread) books I'd already read in English (mostly Steven King novels, addict I). When I had to look up a word I didn't know, I'd highlight it in my dictionary. If I looked it up again, I'd find it quicker and I'd put a red dot next to that same word. If I still had to look it up again, a third time, I'd stop, put down the book I was reading, and copy that word and its translation five or ten times into my vocabulary notebook.

Another thing Nathan comments is that he nearly always reads aloud. Since Spanish is represented phonetically (that is, each letter has one sound, some.... only a few .... with two sounds), reading aloud is an excellent way to get your mouth moving around complete sentences. That's the best way towards listening comprehension. Once you're able to pronounce full sentences with ease, you'll find yourself understanding when others blurt out those same full sentences.