Linguaholic

Why is so hard to find the right language exchange buddies?

Trellum

Seriously!  It seems no one is interested enough to contact me on that site I signed up to, only one person, but I think that person has really high expectation, it's like it's not very clear to this person that a language exchange buddy is just that! Not a teacher of any sorts (unless they want to take on that role), but they're not expected to... not to the point of actually creating lessons!

For me a language buddy is more someone you can practice the language with, you can both ask questions regarding to the language you both are learning, but you don't have to take on the role of a teacher!  I'm sorry, but I was a teacher before and it was a lot work... and I was getting paid for for that!  Still I had to quit after a while!

Gosh, why can't I just come across people who are already learning the language somewhere else and just want someone to ask questions to?? or practice what they already know with me?

I think most of the time it is generally just difficult to find someone on the same page as you, whether that be with concern to their availability, or their dedication to the goal. For me, it was difficult to find someone because the time difference I had with the person living across the world was just too much effort and I ended up just calling it quits.

Uhm, same here, the time difference is also an issue, because my mornings are this person's evenings. So it's kinda hard for me to find time for that.  I guess I'll have to call it quits for now, after all I'm not even ready to speak dutch with anyone... I jus can't keep a conversation going, my level isn't good at all.

• 7 months later...