Linguaholic
hrup

some questions about language teaching

Hi there, 

I am a foreign language teacher in my country. I have some questions to you experienced teachers out there.

- 1.Should I teach the class only in the studied language? If I do, don't grammar explanations become too complex and overwhelming? You have to understand both the grammar and the new words, used to explain it. Especially in lower levels, and especially for students, who haven't learned the words well enough. Also, sometimes quite a bit of new words are given in one class visit; if you explain all the word meanings in the studied language, it will take too much time and we might not be able to take the material for the day. 

- 2.Should they translate the texts to their mother language, or not? Of course it's good to teach them to think directly in the new language, but I've noticed that without translation the students quite often don't understand very clearly the meaning of some complex sentences or idiomatic expressions. Is there a point in reading, if they don't understand? And if they can't understand a text, how are they supposed to understand when someone is talking to them face to face? 

Thanks a lot! Any responses appreciated. 

Hi,

I think the best way to teach a new language is to have balance between the language you're teaching and your student's native language. It will be hard to learn something you don't have proper understanding of. It will be really helpful if they translate the text to their mother language and vice versa. It's going to be a long process and will take a lot of patience, especially if the language you're teaching them is very new to them. Also, I think it will be helpful to let them practice by using the language in class little by little. You can also try giving them with different phrases or sentences every day that they can practice when they go home. Hope this helps a bit.