Linguaholic

Options to study the Arabic alphabet

Many people around the world would like to learn the Arabic alphabet, to read and write Arabic texts. For example, people who are expats in the United Arab Emirates, Qatar or Kuwait are in need to learn this language to have an easy time while abroad. You can find many options to study this language online, so I would like to cover a few options for those of you who would like to learn. First off, I'll explain the free options and then I will go onto paid options. The free options are usually self-taught methods or prerecorded video lessons. But I found that many students do not really like that option. Personally, that option worked very well for me and I studied my first Arabic alphabet course at the University known as Islamic Online University but the problem was the way the course was presented, it was just audio and no video!

So how in the world can you learn a language without being able to see the letters? But I must say, I still did enjoy the course and I had bought the book that we used in the class which is known as Arabic Reading and Writing Made Easy by Dr. Bilal Philips, that made it a bit easier to follow along and I did start getting a decent understanding about the Arabic letters.  So, one option is you that could study the free course at Islamic Online University. I would advise that as just to get your feet wet and not as a final option for learning but just somewhere to start.

The second option that I know of is a website known as Alison, and I found that they have a free Arabic alphabet course available on the website. I have taken a few courses there and I must say the courses are not bad but I never took the Arabic alphabet course, I only took a Customer Service course and a marketing course, and a web design course but I never took the alphabet course. So, you can try that as a second option.