Linguaholic

English grammar question

Snowy_Flake

Hello linguaholics!

I have a rather special question about English grammar for you, I hope somebody can help! Here is the question: Which personal pronoun do you have to use in the following sentence (I have marked the pronoun in question in bold letters)?

It is our duty to care for him who has suffered.

So basically, if you have an INDIRECT object that happens to be a pronoun followed by a relative clause, which pronoun do I have to use in the case of a single male person? He? Him? Or is the sentence construction impossible altogether?

I am looking forward to your answers!

Study With Us on Discord for FREE!

I'm no expert so I might be wrong but I think the structure is sound as well as the pronoun used. Personally, I think you could substitute the noun with anything and it could work so it's why I'm assuming that the structure is good.

For example, "it is our duty to care for Frank, who has suffered" doesn't sound too odd to me at all, so I suspect using him in this case is acceptable.

Thanks @Baburra for answering, I know the question might be a little odd. The thing is, it DOES SOUND correct to me, too but a friend actually raised the issue, and now I am confused.

Let's say you have a sentence like:

It is he, who should vote.

It's pretty straight forward, as "he" is the subject and therefore it goes perfectly with the "who".

As however in the example I have "him" is an indirect object, does it still stay "who"? I mean, obviously the sentence structure as it is, is a bit archaic, so I was also wondering if it might have been correct at one point but now isn't any more ... HELP

I don't really pay much attention to grammar and all. But in your example above, the correct form is, "It is our duty to care for he who has suffered."

That he could be anybody who has suffered. him can't go, if you want to use him. You can write your sentence like this, "It is our duty to care for him."