Linguaholic

Did you see learning a new language as an investment?

Trellum

I'll explain my question a bit more by saying I didn't really see learning English as an investment back when I started learning it, because I was 16 years old back then and I didn't realize learning this language would open so many doors for me.  Now I'm 26 years old and have lived a lot amazing (some not so amazing) experiences thanks to the fact I learnt the language; both in my personal and professional areas.

So yeah, there is no doubt in my mind that learning English was probably the best investment ever, even if at the start I didn't even realize  it.

This has changed the way I used to see language learning, mostly because now I'm an adult with a lot financial responsibilities and don't really have a lot spare time to learn other languages for the pleasure of it. So if I learn a new language it must be one that will benefit me or one that I'll definitely be using on a daily basis. 

What about you? Did you see learning a new language as an investment? Why? Why not?

Well I learned English at a very young age, like pre-school age, because English is commonly used in my country, so I never really had to make that much of an effort to learn it. But now that I'm an adult, I will only study a new language if I really have to learn it because I'm required to, or to get better work opportunities, both locally and abroad.

I never thought of English like that. Actually I didn't think of anything when I studied English. I have been exposed to the language since I was young that it just became a part of my life. Learning Chinese was however some kind of investment for me, not for financial gains but so that I can watch more movies and talk to more people.