Linguaholic

Teaching English in China

Hi there!

I have been a part time English teacher in China- I was in Hangzhou, Zhejiang Province. I know there are some schools who help you get a visa. I even knew  some people who were allocated apartments to stay. It all depends on the school/ company you are dealing with. I hope this helps!

Yes, it really depends on the institution. Sometimes all it takes is to be a foreigner! Chinese people assume all foreigners are English-speaking Americans so even Europeans whose first language is not English may find it relatively easy to get a stint there.

If you do get an attachment or temporary position, it could be an amazing experience!

I haven't done so myself, but I have had several friends do so. Their accounts really vary, so like the poster above mentions, your mileage may vary depending on the agency you go through.

For one of them, a female, she said she had an awful time. It was a learning experience and all, but at the end of it she said that she has wished she hadn't gone. She attributed this mostly to the conditions that she had to endure, as well as the general isolation since there were very few english speakers with her.

My other friend is male, and ended up in a larger city. He said he had an absolute blast as his school would go on frequent outings and there were many english speakers with him.

A bit of a gamble it seems.

Two years ago I was studying Chinese in Nanjing, China (南京)。

I have been living on campus of 南京大学 for some months and in this time I have seen so many foreigners engaging in teaching activities. There were so many chinese students that were looking for (native) English speakers, you wouldn't believe....Even me, (as non-native speaker of English) I got asked very frequently about teaching English to chinese students/children. Sometimes when simply hanging out in the city, some Chinese people would approach me and ask me if I could teach their children  :frozen: