Linguaholic

How long did it take you to master a new language?

travelholicangela

For people here who speak multiple languages, how many months or years of studying did it take you to confidently say that you could speak a language well? For someone like me wanting to learn several more languages, do I really need to visit a particular country and spend time there for me to be able to master a language?

Looking forward to hearing your replies!

Study With Us on Discord for FREE!

Hi Angela

It really depends on the language. As a German native speaker it was really easy for me to learn English. French was a little bit harder but still not a big deal. After that I studied Chinese and in this case it was really necessary to go to China for some time to improve my Chinese skills (mainly in Speaking the language). It is not impossible to study Chinese in another country but you should eventually go there and apply what you learned. If you don't, it is very well possible that Chinese people will not understand a word of what you are saying, because some students of the Chinese language never actually get to the point where they are able to pronounce the tones correctly!

bW

Lingua

It took me about two years to fully 'master' (I'm using the term rather loosely here) English. Though, looking back I realize that I wasn't half as good as I thought I was - I wrote several English tweets and Facebook statuses, and they were.. embarrassing, to say the least.

It really depends not only on the language you're learning, but your native language, where you're living, the purposes you're learning the language for, and your own confidence and standards for your language learning.