Linguaholic

Forgetting your mother tongue...

eruvande

I was wondering if this has happened to anyone else... I was born in Sweden and lived there till I was 7 and I obviously was fluent, I knew how to read, etc. but then we moved to the U.S. and my parents stopped speaking Swedish because we didn't know any English.

Fast forward to the future and I'm totally fluent in English and Swedish remains this thing that I can understand randomly (but not in a fluency level), but really can't put together more than a few sentences.

Have not experienced it but that is a really odd situation. The reason I say this is because when you are fluent in your first language, do you not think in that language? If you think it that language, then you are using it all the time still.

This does seem odd. I wouldn't think that you could forget your mother tongue. As I am currently studying Spanish, I think about the words in English and keep making the link back. Also if I read a sentence in Spanish I convert it to English to read.

I know some who migrated to US and when they were young and now they can't speak their native language. They started speaking english and use it everyday so they can learn faster. The problem is, they are now fluent in english but don't know how to speak their native language. They can understand, but they can't speak anymore.

You eventually think in whatever language you use the most, like with most anything the brain needs to reinforce things to remember them, that's why we all forget our highschool math and so on :)

My brother and I are just a couple of years apart in age grew up speaking both English and Spanish. I moved away and now my English is fluent and my Spanish rusty, whereas he has a hilariously thick Spanish accent when he speaks English. Neither of us gave up the second language completely, and it has only been 20 years, but it is a significant change.